Spring Means Rhubarb!

RhubarbGinger0

The first Vegetable/fruit we can harvest is rhubarb. Last year I made Rhubarb Pineapple Jam and it sold really well at the Farm market, but I had several requests for the English detectible delight Rhubarb and Ginger Jam. I remember my Mother making this for my father and having a heck of a time getting fresh ginger and she made it from Candied Ginger.  I hated the big ginger chunks! After my 5th request, I thought I would investigate what Rhubarb Ginger Jam should be like and I made one small batch last summer as an experiment and gave the jars to those who had asked about it, to give me feedback.

Today was the day I was going to make my first batch of English Style Rhubarb Ginger Jam!

RhubarbGinger1

First, I put the jars in the canner to sterilize and I sliced the Rhubarb into 1″ slices.

I then peeled the ginger and grated a 1/4 cup. I also peeled and shredded lime zest and squeezed the lime juice.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Next I put 8 cups of sliced rhubarb in my jam pot with 1/2 cup of water and brought it to a boil.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

When the rhubarb started to cook, I used my potato masher. Then I removed the mashed rhubarb from the heat and measured out 4 1/2 cups of the hot rhubarb and washed my pot.

RhubarbGinger2

In my pot, I put 1/4 cup of lime juice the 4 1/2 cups of rhubarb, the zest from one lime and 2 tablespoons of grated ginger. At the back are the 6 1/2 cups of sugar that will be added later.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Into the pot went the juice, rhubarb, lime, ginger and a box of pectin. I brought the mixture to a boil that could not be stirred down and kept it there for 5 minutes. I then slowly added the sugar and once again brought the mixture to a rolling boil that could not be stirred down and kept it there for 1 minute. Then turned the heat off under the jam pot.

RhubarbGinger3

I took the jars, the funnel and the ladle out of the canner. Behind the jam pot, you can see the pot holding the jar lids.

And I fill the jars.

When they are all filled, I wipe the rims with a piece of damp paper towel to ensure not a speck of jam remains (it will affect the seal on the jars).

The jars are then placed back into the canner, and returned to a boil for 10 minutes.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

When done, the jars are lifted out of the canner and placed on a clean towel to cool. This is my favorite part, listening to the jars “ping” as they self seal!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

When they have cooled, each jar will be numbered (1-8 in this batch) and date will be written on their lids with felt marker. Later, the labels will be placed on the jars and will include the date they were canned, the jar number and the batch number.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

As jar 9 will be our sample jar, I thought I would taste it! When I opened the jar, I could smell the sweet ambrosial fragrance! This would make an incredible cologne. The jam also has a gorgeous color. The lime juice and using pectin so it does not cook for an hour keeps the rosy red of the fresh rhubarb.  And it mounds perfectly in the spoon.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

At this point, my camera needed new batteries. When I came back, there was a bite out of the bread and a satisfied smile on the perpetrator. Me thinks this will be a great batch of jam!

It is available for mail order (just email us at info@bearygoodstuff.com for any of pour products) and will be at the Slow Food Salone Del Gusto! It’s thick and rhubarb-tart and cooked-sugar-sweet and has a little heat from the fresh ginger and a little something extra from the lime. The perfect late winter pick-me-up using the season’s first offering.

About badkowalik

Prepared by hand and cooked in small batches – our preserves are cooked slowly. There is an average of 1.5 pounds of fruit in every 8 oz jar. Not only can you taste the difference – you can see the difference. Beautiful natural color and unmatched textures – that can only be achieved by the patience and experience of the Confiseur (the maker). There is alchemy to what we do. Like fine wines, each season has it’s own specific style. We create preserves with exceptional taste. Capturing these flavors is the craft of our business. Beary Good Stuff is a collection of seasonal, sustainable, artisinally made preserves. The collection is made (in limited quantities) from local fruits using traditional cooking methods. We use the freshest ingredients we can get. The small batch production insures a taste and texture that is unmatched in the commercial market today. The collection includes preserved fruits & vegetables – marmalades, jams, fruit butters & salsas, pickles and gift collections that reflect the bounty of the season and spirit of feasting. Although not necessary yet, we have received a letter from the BC Heath Authority. We submitted a package detailing how and where we made our products, what each recipe contains and how we prepare it. This letter is displayed in our tent at the Farm Market. We have our BC MarketSafe and FoodSafe certifications.

Posted on April 14, 2013, in Recipes, Tangy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That sounds delicious. I’ve never had rhubarb with anything other than strawberry pie so this sounds great. Thanks for sharing.

